Wiregrass recognizes outgoing Board Chair

August 20, 2012

Terri Lupo, James McGahee, Dr. Ray Perren
Board Vice-Chair Terri Lupo, Board member James McGahee, and Wiregrass President Dr. Ray Perren.

Valdosta, GA— At the August meeting of the Wiregrass Georgia Technical College Board of Directors, the Board recognized outgoing chairman James McGahee. Wiregrass president Dr. Ray Perren presented Mr. McGahee with a plaque in recognition of his term as Chairman of the Board. McGahee served as Chairman from July 2008 until June 2012. He began serving on the Board of then Valdosta Technical College in July of 2005 and served as Chairman through the college’s transition to Wiregrass Georgia Technical College. His current term on the Board ends in June of 2014.

“James McGahee is a true believer in technical education. He works tirelessly to promote Wiregrass Tech, not only as a Board member and former Board Chair, but also through his tremendous influence in the medical community as the former CEO of South Georgia Medical Center,” stated Perren. “Mr. McGahee’s leadership was a powerful influence in merging the two Boards that now form the Wiregrass Georgia Tech Local Board of Directors. He is a true friend of the College. His work with Wiregrass is a shining example of the good things that happen for our students when business leaders personally invest their time and influence into our College.”

Terrell Jacobs, City of Manager for Douglas, is the new Chairman for the Board. Terri Lupo, South Region Vice President for Georgia Power, is the Vice-Chair. A list of upcoming Board meeting dates is located on the Wiregrass Georgia Technical College website as well as a complete list of Board members.