Goal is College Completion

February 22, 2013

TCSG and GICA sign Articulation Agreement

Valdosta, GA— The Georgia Independent College Association and the Technical College System of Georgia have made it easier for technical college graduates to enter many four-year private colleges in Georgia with transfer of credit hours. Representatives of the two organizations signed the Transfer Articulation Agreement in a State Capitol ceremony hosted by Governor Nathan Deal on February 20 in the north wing.

“The purpose of this unprecedented public-private partnership is to facilitate college completion throughout Georgia and empower the future workforce,” GICA President Dr. Susanna Baxter said.

“This agreement formally recognizes that Georgia’s technical and private colleges are active educational partners in providing educational opportunities for currently enrolled and prospective students of both college sectors. Agreement to this partnership requires a commitment by all to facilitate a student’s ability to transfer select coursework without jeopardizing the intended mission and stated goals of any participating entity,” Baxter said.

Based on a recent survey of other state higher education systems, the agreement is believed to be one of only a few such credit transfer and admission acceptance arrangements in the nation.

“We are excited to have this statewide articulation with 19 private colleges in Georgia. This along with the strong statewide agreement we have with the University System of Georgia allows our associate degree graduates a broad range of opportunity should they choose to continue their education,” stated Dr. Ray Perren, Wiregrass Georgia Technical College President.

Under the agreement, a TCSG student having a minimum 2.5 GPA for all academic work attempted at a SACS-accredited TCSG institution and an Associate of Applied Science or Associate of Science degree from a TCSG institution will be admitted to participating GICA member baccalaureate degree-granting institutions. GICA member baccalaureate degree-granting institutions may deny admission only if coursework beyond the two-year degree falls below minimum admission standards or applicants are not in good standing.

Admission to the GICA participating institution does not guarantee admission to specific majors or programs. Students must meet minimum admission requirements specific to select majors or programs to be considered for admission into such majors or programs. Students who have not completed pre-requisites for admission to specific majors will be required to complete the pre-requisites at the transferring GICA institution.

Members of GICA participating in the agreement include the following: Andrew College, Berry College, Brenau University, Brewton-Parker College, Covenant College, Emmanuel College, Georgia Military College, LaGrange College, Mercer University, Paine College, Piedmont College, Point University, Reinhardt University, Shorter University, Thomas University, Toccoa-Falls College, Truett McConnell College, Wesleyan College, and Young Harris College.

The Technical College System includes Wiregrass Georgia Technical College and 24 other institutions located throughout Georgia.