Twenty-eight Wiregrass Tech Students are Nominated for GOAL Award

November 13, 2013

Valdosta - Instructors at Wiregrass Georgia Technical College have nominated 28 of their students for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) competition, according to Lydia Hubert, coordinator for the college’s GOAL program.

GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students. GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 24 technical colleges as well as one Board of Regents college with a technical education division.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors are Joyce Culver (Ben Hill), Omar Pardo (Irwin), Jasmine Williams (Coffee), Benetta Scott (Cook), Alex Terrell (Lowndes), Danita Smallwood (Lowndes), David Hamlin (Brooks), John Daniels (Lowndes), Jennifer Walker (Lowndes), Omar Everette (Lowndes), Melony Darty (Lowndes), Sharon Lanier (Lowndes), William Griffis (Cook), Bobbie Pajerowski (Echols), Elizabeth Silvia (Berrien), Aysia Walker (Lowndes), Talia Williams (Lowndes), Ross Potter (Lowndes), Stuart Dinkins (Lowndes), Edward Green (Lowndes), Charles Williams (Lowndes), Jeff Whittington (Clinch), Zachary Myers (Lowndes), Rick O’Leary (Lowndes), Matthew Priest (Lowndes), Morgan Newcomer (Lowndes), Brittany Lecates (Lowndes), Martrez Reynolds (Brooks).

"The purpose of the GOAL program is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia's technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce," said Hubert.

A screening committee of administrators at Wiregrass will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students in December. After the nominees have been ranked, four finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Wiregrass’ GOAL winner for 2014.

The four finalists will then take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by a selection committee of representatives from local business and industry in January. That panel will consider the students’ qualities like academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional competition in March at Moultrie Technical College, Tifton campus. Then three from each of the three regions will make up the nine regional finalists, who will be named in April at the state GOAL conference in Atlanta. The nine regional finalists will then move to the state level and compete for the title of state GOAL winner.

The student who earns the state GOAL winner title is also awarded the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.